5th wheel hitches

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

champlon

Hi:

I am new to this forum. I would imagine the following topic has been run in the ground, but, I need some advice on 5th wheel hitches. We are getting a 2005 Keystone Challenger 29RKP. The dealer is putting in the hitch, or has priced it in I should say, for $750.00. We will be picking it up in a few weeks. We have a 2002 GMC 2500HD, 1-1/2 cab, full bed, 8.1Liter engine. My wife has osteoarthritis and fibramylasia (both sp?). We need to have the smoothest non jerking ride that is possible. Should we stay with the dealer hitch or go one of those air ride hitches? If air ride which one? I really need some sound advice here. Please help us out.

Thank You, ahead of time, for all your help.

Dean and Sherry and Shepley (tri color Sheltie)

Dean,

I'm not an expert on 5th wheel hitches, but we have others here who have pretty extensive knowledge on the subject.  Your message was moved to this topic area as there is a much higher probability that it will be seen by those "in the know" on the subject.  Good luck! :)

champlon said:
Hi:

I am new to this forum. I would imagine the following topic has been run in the ground, but, I need some advice on 5th wheel hitches. We are getting a 2005 Keystone Challenger 29RKP. The dealer is putting in the hitch, or has priced it in I should say, for $750.00. We will be picking it up in a few weeks. We have a 2002 GMC 2500HD, 1-1/2 cab, full bed, 8.1Liter engine. My wife has osteoarthritis and fibramylasia (both sp?). We need to have the smoothest non jerking ride that is possible. Should we stay with the dealer hitch or go one of those air ride hitches? If air ride which one? I really need some sound advice here. Please help us out.

Thank You, ahead of time, for all your help.

Dean and Sherry and Shepley (tri color Sheltie)

Hi,