Buying New. Dealing with dealers...Need Advice Please.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

gigguy

I am buying a new (2022 or 2023) Class A Forest River Georgetown 36K7. When a dealer has a sale price on their website and throw out an offer, what is the average I can work them down? For instance a 2022 listed for $179 and the guy writes me back and says he want to move it for $176 not counting taxes & tags. Strange question but I am new to this. I know they need to make a living and I don't want to take that away from them, but I also want to get the best I can for myself. Any advice?

I am pretty sure that you don't have to worry about the dealer getting his due.

No matter how you play it, taxes and tag are usually the buyer's responsibility. But, do the math and protect your purse.

And consider getting it inspected. I would bring up the inspection question, just to see how they react.

I am pretty sure that you don't have to worry about the dealer getting his due.

No matter how you play it, taxes and tag are usually the buyer's responsibility. But, do the math and protect your purse.

And consider getting it inspected. I would bring up the inspection question, just to see how they react.
Would it be fair to shoot back $169? As for tags & taxes yes I do understand that is on me :) Good idea as to an inspection.

RV sales in general have slowed considerably compared to 2-3 years ago. With interest rates on an RV super high right now (most people finance), compared to the last 15 years of relatively low rates, that's really impacting the inflated pricing that came out of the pandemic. It's pushed a lot of people out of the market. There are deals to be had, however, temper that with the springtime sales bump when people want to buy a rig and get out on the road for the summer. But I think you're still in a good spot.