Can't turn hot water heater valves for winterizing

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Kathy O

My 5'er is in storage for a couple of months this winter, and I'm working on winterizing -- something I've never done before.  I'm not near an electrical source, so blowing out with a compressor isn't an option. I bought a hand pump and three gallons of rv anti-freeze, but I can't get the three bypass valves for the water heater to turn. The valves look like they're made of cheap plastic and I don't want to break them.  Which way should they turn? Left or right? Is it normal for them to be so hard to turn?

Also, my owners manual says something about removing the anode.  What the heck is an anode!?

Thank you, thank you, thank you!

~Kathy :eek:

If the water heater is a Suburban brand, it will have a sacrificial anode attached to the heater drain plug. It's purpose is to get eaten away by corrosive minerals in the water, thus sacrificing itself so that the tank itself is not corroded. It should be checked annually and replaced as needed. When you unscrew the water heater tank drain, the anode comes out with it. If the heater is an Atwood, no worries. It doesn't use a sacrificial anode because the tank metal is self protecting.

Sometimes the valves can be very difficult to turn. In most systems I have seen, the valves turn 1/4 turn. The ones at either end of the bypass tube turn right to close, typically making the valve handle crosswise on the tubing. The one in the middle of the bypass tube is normally closed, so it turns 1/4 turn left to open, typically making the handle aligned in the same direction as the tube. However, the valve arrangement can vary according to who designed the bypass plumbing and the type of valve used.

Any chance you could post a picture?