Cold Weather Camping Tips

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

sheltie

I've never gone camping in my MH in cold weather but I'm about to this week.  I think I know most of the common sense things (don't leave your water hose connected when below freezing, leave a window cracked when using an electric heater inside, etc) but what else should I be aware of.  I'm pretty sure my tanks are all exposed to heat so I shouldn't need to worry about them freezing.  I won't be carrying any water in the fresh water tank on the trip.  I'm told that I can use the propane to power my furnace going down the road and I've never done that before. I'll layer clothes, use an electric blanket, etc.

Any tips would be appreciated.

I am assume a lot off of your post like you will have hook ups and you have a 4 season rig.

The tanks are heated by the furnace, so use the electric heat to augment but that furnace has to run to keep you from freezing up. Just in case, I would add some anti-freeze to the waste tanks. Also remember the sewer hose isn't heated, will freeze up and may break, so don't leave the gray water valve open.

You mentioned not leaving the hose connected because it may freeze, I'd have water in the fresh water tank for a few reasons. First, the whole system can go down to freezing up. Second, with the tap hooked up, if a line in your rig freezes and breaks, the water will just keep coming. Using the tank means you can shut down the pump and if a break happens, you won't have a flooded rig. You can get a heated hose for the tap but I still suggest shutting it off when you dont need it or at least while you are away.

Open the cabinet doors and drawers where the plumbing runs behind them. No heat is usually forced into those areas and they can get mighty cold.