D-Link card as Wi-Fi link

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Don Peterson

Well-known member
Joined
Mar 9, 2005
Posts
56
Location
St. Charles, IL
I have a D-Link Air Plus DWL-650+ wireless remote adapter (PCMCIA) for my Dell laptop. I bought it for use on my home wireless system. Can this card be used in hot spots at campgrounds?

Thanks,
Don
 

Tom

Administrator
Joined
Jan 13, 2005
Posts
48,738
It sure can Don. Here's the blurb on the DWL 650+ on D-Link's web page:
... all D-Link wireless adapters can be used for peer-to-peer networking (ad-hoc mode) with other 802.11b/g wirelessly enabled computers for direct file sharing, or as a wireless client (infrastructure mode) to connect to wireless access points or wireless routers.
 

BernieD

Well-known member
Joined
Mar 1, 2005
Posts
5,876
Location
Goodyear, AZ
Don Peterson said:
I have a D-Link Air Plus DWL-650+ wireless remote adapter (PCMCIA) for my Dell laptop. I bought it for use on my home wireless system. Can this card be used in hot spots at campgrounds?

Thanks,
Don

I've used that card on my laptop without built-in wi-fi.
 

Terry A. Brewer

Well-known member
Joined
Mar 4, 2005
Posts
1,446
Don

Yes it can, but I would suggest you use a USB unit as it has a better antenna & can be moved around in order to get a better/stronger signal.

Terry
At Sierra Vista, AZ
 

blueblood

Well-known member
Joined
Mar 16, 2005
Posts
1,082
Don Peterson said:
I have a D-Link Air Plus DWL-650+ wireless remote adapter (PCMCIA) for my Dell laptop. I bought it for use on my home wireless system. Can this card be used in hot spots at campgrounds?

Thanks,
Don

The answer is yes but ---- .  I have tried using this card ( plus others successfully) on my Dell laptop and ran into a problem. It blue screened me after connecting every time. In searching the web looking for a solution I discovered others in both US and UK have experienced the same problem. D-Link recognized the problem on the forum I was using and promised some response but never came back in over six months I followed the issue. I suppose it is Dell model dependent - most of us are using I-7000 and I-7500's.
 

Don Peterson

Well-known member
Joined
Mar 9, 2005
Posts
56
Location
St. Charles, IL
Thanks, folks. I have until June to resolve the issue. There are some hot spots around home here, where I can at least check out the card that I have. I will also look into the I-7000 & I-7500. Frankly, the card that I have at times is marginal even here at home when I am no more that about thirty feet away from the router. I am assuming (hoping?) that these remote locations use some kind of boosted signal for people to use at greater distances.
 

blueblood

Well-known member
Joined
Mar 16, 2005
Posts
1,082
Don Peterson said:
Thanks, folks. I have until June to resolve the issue. There are some hot spots around home here, where I can at least check out the card that I have. I will also look into the I-7000 & I-7500. Frankly, the card that I have at times is marginal even here at home when I am no more that about thirty feet away from the router. I am assuming (hoping?) that these remote locations use some kind of boosted signal for people to use at greater distances.

They don't really provided much more power than your router at most places. The average distance should be about 150 ft. Cards come in power ranges from 30mw to 200 mw. The D-Link is a 30 mw card as I recall and not a very good one at that i.e.there are quality differences even when same power output is advertised and this results in varying QoS. The higher power cards work much better than lower as can be expected but the trade off is you are sending your information farther out for the bad guys to be able to pickup as well. I have a high quality 30 mw card that I use successfully across the US even though I have some of the 100 and 200 cards as well
 

Forum statistics

Threads
119,290
Posts
1,195,714
Members
124,106
Latest member
rickkapur
Top Bottom