Driving downhill with a bigger rig. Suggestions please...

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

stratus225

I'm curious to know from some of the more seasoned RV'ers towing a trailer what suggestions you would have for the descent parts of the trip. I'm very new to this and just this morning already was in a stiuation just pulling the trailer home from the storage lot where a downhill slope got me thinking of how to handle it. I did start to apply the holy crap switch at one point as there were traffic lights at the bottom of the hill. That was bad enough, but I cant even imagine whats going to happen at 60 mile an hour on the highway. All suggestions, tipe and tricks are appreciated. Saftey first!

I believe there are some "hints" in our library.. One rule is to use the same gear going down, you would use going up.. Problem is there are many hills where you go up a 3% slope and go down a 6% (or the other way around) and you don't know what is on the other side.. Till you get there.  (At least not the first time)

If you are worried,  DOWNSHIFT just before you get to the top of the hill 

Some vehicles have assorted "Slow down" options (IE: Mine) but not all do.

I've seen discussions on braking.. Two different schools..

But the #1 best thing you can do.. Beyond a doubt the #1 best thing you can do,  Is think about it BEFORE  it is too late

And by making the opening post in this thread.. You did just that.