Fridge Condensation?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ruthandken CDN

Is it normal to have condensation on the 'ceiling' on the fridge?  I have a Norcold 4 door, freezer is fine, it's the fridge section.  I checked all the seals, washed them down, tried the paper trick, it pulls out but doesn't fall out.  The humidity level here is fairly high.  It's not all the time but if I think about it I suppose it's worse when the humidity level is higher outside.  I have not noticed it before, but that's not to say it wasn't there and I just haven't noticed.
Thanks for any input...
Ruth

Hmmm...I'm not an expert by any means but I was thinking that if your level was off a bit it might screw up the drainage back towards the fins and the condensation tray.

We too are in a VERY humid area (Coastal Bend Texas). We haven't had any condensation issues other than the freezer of course getting loaded up a bit, although it was almost two months before my wife did the defrost on it.  I'm thinking that it's probably just the humidity in your area, the fact that your fridge is condensing moisture means it's working. Those big double door refrigerators have considerably more surface area as well as volume inside providing quite a bit of potential for condensation. Design wise the moisture is supposed to travel to the rear of the fridge where it can go down the fins and into the condensation tray which will drain to the outside.  Are your fins freezing up badly?

If you do a lot of cooking indoors with the rig closed up your humidity levels inside will be much higher than they are outside, not to mention the amount of moisture generated when showering, doing dishes etc.  I would recommend using your exhaust fans whenever possible when performing tasks like dishes and showering. I have actually gotten up in the morning and found "dew" on the dining room table!!