How to Buy and Sell an RV in Arizona from any other state

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

lheiberger

Hello - I am an AZ resident who recently sold my RV to a buyer from CO ($70K transaction) and bought from a seller in FL ($240K+$10K transaction). Both were done in cash which made it easier. First the sale, they wanted me to hold it for four weeks so they put down a 5% deposit via my PayPal account and we completed an RV intent to purchase form signed via Docusign. There was communication so they could line up insurance. They arrived, inspected, test drove, and confirmed they wanted to purchase. I had lined up a traveling notary at our house. I signed the AZ title over to them and the notary signed too. This is required in AZ. They gave me a cashier's check. I also did a bill of sale for them (search RV Bill of Sale for forms) that was also notarized. Not necessary, but it is a good idea as you can never have too much documentation. We went to the AZ MVD together (I did not need to be there). They got temporary plates for a small fee (cannot recall the amount) to drive to CO where they will be able to register the RV.

Now the purchase. See the attached as this was more complicated as the seller had a lien (loan from the bank). First, I had a relative living in FL do an inspection. Then, my husband and I went down. There were repairs that needed to be completed but we definitely wanted to purchase. I did an amendment to a Bill of Sale where the sale was contingent on those being completed (you can always waive those if it takes too long). We also did an Odometer Attestation. We had both notarized with all of our signatures and original copies for both of us. The Bill of Sale serves as a contractual agreement whereby if either party does not follow through, the other party may pursue damages. I did not put down a deposit.