Loose and rusty screws holding the inside A/C screen

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

thelazyl

I am still a bit of a newbie with RV's.  I have 3 questions about my A/C system regarding the cover and screen that are on the inside ceiling.  My owner's manual is not specific regarding some of my questions.

After owning the RV for 12 months I finally decided to take off this screen to see if I need to clean a filter. 
1.  I noticed that one screw was missing from the plastic cover and another was just hanging on because it was "stripped" inside.  I recall reading another post that suggested putting Elmer's glue on the interior hole, drill a pilot hole, and then re-set the screws.  Does this sound like a good solution?  My other idea is to get larger screws.
2.  Several of the screws were rusty (on the thread part).  However I saw no evidence of a water leak when I pulled off the cover and screen.  My rig is older (a 2003) and there is no evidence of a water leak anywhere in the coach.  Should I "dig in" further into the unit to see if I have a problem?  After taking off the plastic cover and a small foam-like filter I see a piece of sheet metal set with removable screws.  I did not take off this sheet metal.  Should I and look further?
3.  When I pull off the plastic cover there is only a thin piece of filter-like foam.  I believe this is the only filter that I should be concerned with cleaning.  Am I correct?

Thanks in advance for your help.

Yes that foam is your filter. Wash it warm soapy water, rinse it good and let it air dry. The screws may have rusted because of high humidity. I would just go with larger screws.