Newbie Fulltimer with question(s)

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Hollywood Bob

Hello, all.  I am new to the whole RV scene, but my work has kept me on the road so much this past year that I have decided to sell my house, buy an Airstream and go full time on the road rather than continue to fund the airline and hotel industry.  But I have a couple of questions and I'm hoping there is someone out there who can answer them. If I'm on the road full time and living in different locations on a seasonal basis, in what state should I register my driver's license?  My business license?  My vehicle insurance?  And speaking of which, does anyone have any good recommendations for full time RV insurance?

Appreciate any insight you who are more experienced at this might have.

Thanks in advance.

HOLLYWOOD BOB

Hi Hollywood Bob and welcome to our forum.

It sounds like you've made the big decision that so many folks agonize over. We have a number of fulltimers here who will hopefully jump in with responses to your questions.

The choice of domicile doesn't have any one answer, but is determined by reviewing several factors.  There is a short list of states that are usually considered for a domicile for a fulltimer, mostly those without state income tax.  However, since you have a business, the type of business will also be a factor.  What business are you in?  Is it a service or product based business?  Insurance cost is one of the factors in the decision.  You'll get lots of information from others here, I'm sure, but the real short list of states is usually Texas, Florida, South Dakota.