Norcold Recall high temp limit switch replacement.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Adventuresekr

Hi All. I have a Norcold Model 1201LRIM SR. no. 1278435 refrigerator with the recall temp. limit switch installed. This switch failed and would like to replace it. (yes I did the magnet reset) This worked the first time I did it when the light came on. It is not working at all now. I had to bypass it to get the fridge to work. (I know, bad idea). I am only trouble shooting, I have no intentions of running in bypass.
I see from my search on the web that the switch model 637360 is available. Will this work as a replacement of mine, 634677? I am a mechanic by trade so I really hate to have to schedule and pay labor for this repair when I can do it myself. Anyone have this problem?

Last edited:
Is it worth risking fire in the RV from an overheating refrigerator boiler? That is what you are considering.
No, I'm simply asking if the 637360 is a replacement for the model 634677 I currently have.
I have no intentions of running it bypassed.
I edited my post to reflect this.

Last edited:
Have you considered that the unit did perform it's job and prevented a fire? There may be an actual fault in the fridge. If that unit keeps tripping, you need to get it checked by a QUALIFIED service.

I suggest you install a ARP Fridge Defend module - it is far superior to the Norcold device, which only shuts off if severe overheating and then does not auto-restart, usually costing you your food.

The 637360 claims to fit the 2118 model fridge. Don't know how well it would work with the other models. Norcold doesn't say what the difference is [if any]. They are very secretive about what it does.

The engineer that designed the ARP Fridge Defend unit probably knows and last I heard he would respond to calls or emails.