Northern Lights Diesel Generator 6KW

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
Does anyone have any info / experience with the Northern Lights 3 cyl 6KW gen...?

I hear it is very quiet & only runs at 1800rpm as compared to the Onan which runs at 3000rpm...?

Thanks, standing by..............

I have no experience or knowledge regarding the Genset you mentioned nor have I ever heard of it.  However, the big question I would have if I was considering one is where I would have to go to get warranty service on it if needed and availability of parts.  If you are in say Oregon and the nearest service for a Northern Lights Genset is in Chicago you would be kinda out of luck.  A name brand Genset such as Onan is fairly easy to get service or repair if needed.

Except for Honda, (and generators like it) which can run any speed.  Most gen-sets sold in the us run 3600/n rpm where N is 1,2 or 3.

So, I know of no generator that runs at 3000 RPM, that wold not make sense.

I am fairly sure my Onan is a 1200 RPM but I have not clocked it

Sidecar Sylvie said:
Does anyone have any info / experience with the Northern Lights 3 cyl 6KW gen...?

I hear it is very quiet & only runs at 1800rpm as compared to the Onan which runs at 3000rpm...?

Thanks, standing by..............