One more GFI topic.....

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Rye

Hey everyone,
I'm new to the RVing world...I've had my 2006 Keystone Springdale to two days! 

All systems seemed to work fine at the former owners location.  I pulled the RV home, plugged in the shore line and tripped the brand new GFI in my garage.  Began researching and trouble shooting.  I turned off everything in the camper and all of the breakers - no change, tripped the GFI.  I then plugged in the shore line to a non-GFI circuit, everything works - no problems, except for the non-GFI thing.  I read some more of the forums, then I found an 3 to 2 adapter (no ground) and plugged into the GFI.  It works fine. 

So, I'm thinking I may have a possible neutral to ground connection somewhere.  Thoughts?  Because the fault occurred with all of the circuits off in the RV, I'm thinking the problem is possible between the shoreline and the inverter?

Rye

I think you have it.  There was a thread a while ago where Lou S. suggested exactly that situation.  I have it in our MH and have to come up with a solution as one place we stop has 30 amp GFI's.

I solved the problem at home as I installed a 50 amp RV outlet.

That's exactly what you have, but finding it can be a challenge. It is not uncommon for it to be in the converter or inverter itself, or in the fridge electric heat element.  Turning off all breakers should stop those, except for an inverter that auto-switches the inverter on when AC power goes off. Some other possibilities are a bonded neutral-ground in the load center (it should not be bonded there in an RV), or  at the generator (which does bond neutral and ground, but supposedly only when operating. I've seen a neutral-ground connection in a transfer switch too.