Please help

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

christoyhauler

OK All,

I am not a engineer by any means, not a car genius either. I have a RAM 1500 hemi, 5.7 v8, 3.21. I need a toy hauler to take boys dirt bike racing. I am thoroughly confused on weight, from hitch weight to tongue weight,  payload capacity, etc...According to RAM. MAX towing is 8270#.  What I want to know is the heaviest i can go on a dry weight trailer, is there a certain length I want to stay away from? Any other info you want to share, I will take. Thanks for your help

Not an expert but one,dry weight is irrelevant.  All the bikes and their gear matters,as do clothes,food,water,etc,etc.  you don't say how many boys and their approximate weights,but that all figures in too.  I doubt a 1500 will be heavy enough for most toy haulers. 

What is the weight for YOUR truck,not A random RAM.  Look on the drivers side door post for a sticker with weights.  List those here and someone will be happy to help.

Look for a toy hauler with dry weight about 5000# dry weight.  Then you can add boys, bikes, and beer I mean soda, and travel around somewhat safely.  Hate to bust your bubble, but you are soon to find out that 1500 anything just don't realistically pull a great deal. The 8200# towing is a flat bed trailer with optimum weight distribution.  Reality is, put any more than 7200 behind your truck in a Toy Hauler, it will be a nightmare.  The payload (or lack of) will hurt on a 1500 as well.  What is your payload?  Should be a little yellow sticker in the drivers door. 

Welcome to the Forum!

The Glossary has a great list of definitions for GVWR,  GCWR, etc.

Briefly, GVWR for ANY vehicle is themes it can weigh fully loaded.
Dry wt is empty weight and is meaningless.  Nobody goes out with an empty TH!!!!