Restricted Hot Water Flow/City Water Check Valve

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
W

Weewun

I have , what appears to be two separate problems with my Water System.  I have a 2007 Monaco Diplomat with a six gallon Atwood Water Heater.  My City Water Hose is Reel Mounted.

My two problems are: (1) the City Water Check Valve is not operating and (2) my hot water flow is less than half the flow of the cold water flow at all faucets. 

With respect to the City Water Check Valve, the water flows out my City Water Hose when running the pump.  I can work around this quite easily by putting a cap on the end of the Hose when I store it.  I know where the 'check valve is when there is no Hose Reel and I will appreciate anyone telling me where it is usually found when you have a Hose Reel.  I would like to have some idea before I remove the plastic wall in the Water Bay.

With respect to the water flow, I know it is the Water Heater as I get equal flow, hot/cold, when I bypass the  WH.
Have not removed the Water Heater, but I realize that it is probably a defective check valve.  My question is, does the Atwood WH come with an attached Check Valve on Coldwater Side as I see a large galvanized nipple on the CW input.  The Check Valve for the HW outlet is rather obvious as it is brass and obviously added during installation.

Any input will be appreciated.

The water heater check valve set-up depends on the design of the bypass system. A single lever bypass will have check valves at both the cold inlet and hot outlet, while 2 or 3 lever bypass system normally do not use them.  It is typically the one at the outlet that gets gummed up with salts formed in the hot water.