Route and campground recomendation from Mt Rushmore to Yellowstone?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Ozzir

Hi everyone. I am new to the whole RV thing. We bought a 37 ft Fleetwood Pace Arrow. We are going down to Mt Rushmore in mid August. We have a campground booked for 2 nights there and then we are off to Yellowstone. We want to go 1/2 way to Yellowstone from Mt Rushmore and was going to stay at the KOA in Sheridan Wy but I have read that it is very noisy. The other option is to travel through Buffalo Wy on the 16 and go west to Worland and then up through Cody and then in to the east entrance of Yellowstone.  I have never been down that way so I am not familiar at all with the roads and which ones are RV friendly. There will be 8 of us travelling ( 4 adults and 4 children ) and we would like to throw up a tent every night outside the RV for the 2 older kids. Just wondering if anybody has any advice as far as which way to travel to get to Yellowstone.  Once we are in Yellowstone the plan is to stay 3 nights at different camp sites.  Showers are a must. My wife is NOT a camper and wants some luxuries..haha. I was thinking the first night at Fishing Bridge, 2nd at Grant and 3rd at either Madison or right in West Yellowstone at Grizzly. We will not have a tow behind so we will have to use the RV to travel everywhere. Also. My father in law is getting elderly and can not walk long distances so we have to plan the vacation around that.

If anybody has any advice I would sure appreciate it.

Thanks in advance.

Sean

One thing jumped out and I will let others address the rest: throwing out a tent!