RV Insurance Recommendations

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
Homeowners policies normally cover "personal property" away from the home and provides liability for members of the household wherever they are.  Personal property is usually things like clothing, cameras, sporting equipment, etc.  Maybe that would stretch to replacing a pop-up that burned in a campground fire, but I wouldn't count on a homeowners policy to cover the loss of a $30,000-$50,000 trailer.

I also wouldn't count on the auto policy to replace that same trailer if it were totaled in an accident. The auto liability policy covers any damage done BY the trailer while being towed, but it would be unusual for it to cover any damage done TO the trailer under the auto's collision & comp.

I have no knowledge of how various policies are written in Illinois, but your co-worker should ask some very specific questions of his agent. And get answers in writing.

Normally the auto policy on the tow vehicle covers the trailer while it is attached.  Once you are unhooked the auto policy will not cover liability.  Your homeowners liability will cover if you have a home owners policy.  Full timers need toi add CPL(Comprehensive personal liability.  That is the major difference in a full timers policy.  Your personal property should be extended from  your homeowners policy, but may be limited to a percentage of your coverage on the homeowners.  The big problem is the trailer itself.  There is very limited blanket coverage for trailers on a homeowners policy intended to cover a utility trailer etc. AND THEN ONLY FOR THE PERILS OF THE HOME.  Even a mobile home owners policy does not cover collision.  An RV policy covers the gaps best . Adding to your auto policy is seconde bes but has problems.  Noi coverage for personal property and questions of liability.

Tony

scottydl said: