RV'ing in the winter

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

brennaman

This is my first year owning an RV, and I was a little curious about possibly taking it out in the winter months.  We have an '03 Winn. Adventurer.  We store it indoors, and had initially planned to not take it out in the winter months, so it is not winterized.  Also since it was going to be ilde for a few months, I drained the fresh water tank, hot water tank, and drained the grey and black water after our last trip a couple months ago.  So at this point, I would say that it is "dry" right now.  We were thinking of taking it out for a few day's for a little trip, but not sure what we have to do to keep the pipes from freezing while traveling.  As it is now, there is no water to freeze, so no problem.  If I put water in the water tank, would running the generator with the heater on keep everything from freezing up?  Like I said, we are new to this, and this is our first winter, so I am a little nervous to take it out in freezing conditions.  Thanks Phil

While you are waiting on others to respond, you might help by telling us where you are and where you plan to go.  Typical temperatures and weather patterns will play a big part.

Others who know the Adventurer in particular will probably be along shortly, but in general, with a class A or more broadly any rig that has enclosed holding tanks, you can do fine in freezing weather as long as you keep the heat on inside and don't use the city water connection (fill the freshwater tank instead).

Even if you've drained everything there are other steps to follow to prevent damage from freezing.

Another alternative to consider is that some people find it worthwhile to camp in winter without the benefit of the plumbing system.

So you store it in the caves? I was there last Christmas some of the coldest weather i ever saw.