South Dakota; Wyoming; or Montana

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

NTXFLTMR

Hello to all of you professional fisherman ........... I need help!!!  I'm leaving Texas in about 10 days for these states and then on to Br. Columbia and Alaska to go on a RV caravan tour.  Anyway, I haven't done very much fishing since I was a teenager and I'm afraid that I've probably forgot most everything that I knew.  In one of these areas should I hire a guide for a one day trip and if so which area?  My ultimate goal is to not be so green when I'm on the tour, because we will have several fishing opportunities.

Thanks,
David

David

I'm not a pro fisherman, but hiring a guide will certainly give you local knowledge, get you to the productive fishing holes, provide you with knowledge of baits/flies/lures and techniques, and it's a good bet you'll be catching fish. OTOH good guides don't come cheap. There are some relatively inexpensive fishing guide books on individual states that I've found useful and reasonably accurate. Another option is to drop into local bait and tackle shops and ask questions; Obviously they'll want to sell you something they have but, for the post part, I've been able to acquire good local knowledge this way.

NTXFLTMR said:
Hello to all of you professional fisherman ........... I need help!!!  I'm leaving Texas in about 10 days for these states and then on to Br. Columbia and Alaska to go on a RV caravan tour.  Anyway, I haven't done very much fishing since I was a teenager and I'm afraid that I've probably forgot most everything that I knew.  In one of these areas should I hire a guide for a one day trip and if so which area?  My ultimate goal is to not be so green when I'm on the tour, because we will have several fishing opportunities.

Thanks,
David