Tires on Class A

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Waiexguy

Bought a 2016 Coachmen Pursuit with 245/70 x19.5 tires. Though they look good the dating shows Dec of 2015.
My general feeling is that they are probably closing in on end of life even though there is lots of tread and no signs of weather checking. This unit has the Goodyear UL670's. I look them up and they want and arm and a leg for them. Is there something special about this tire? I've had several people tell me to look into the Double Coin or Toyo tires. On a slightly different note, on my last trip, I was driving with a 20-30mph cross wind at approx. 60mph and when I did a pit stop, I got out and checked the front tires. They were hot to the touch. That is with 80lbs cold tire pressure and the TMPS showing a tire pressure of 90. Is that pretty common? I'm not experienced with motorhome tires and was not aware until recently, there is such a learning curve on tires. My honest feeling is most RV tires die of old age and not from being worn out? Would like to hear about different tire experiences and looking to be safe and not sorry. Larry

Lots of tires in that size. Your in ID so make a call to your local Les Schwab. They may not be the cheapest around but offer great service.

The tires are past end of life 7 years is about the max unless you take very good care of the tires. Since you did not own the rig from the beginnning you do not know how they were treated. Tread and looks are not an indication . The BS about buying tires at a certain place is just BS. If you are on the road you may not find a Les Schwab, Discount tire etc. Buy them from whoever offers the lowest out the door price.
Toyo is a nice tire

Last edited: