Total newbie and confused

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

HOOOPTEEE

Hi everyone, I have a 2006 Winnebago class C with an upgraded Progressive Dynamics PD4645V charger and stock inverter. Now, I'd like to add a few solar panels. The plan was to drop the solar wire down the fridge vent --> to the solar charger (to be mounted under the stove) --> pop a hole through the floor and run welding wire (in conduit) under the rig to the coach battery located under the entry stairs.

I just saw a youtube video about a guy who wired the solar controller/charger directly to the existing battery charger under the fridge and now I'm all confused. What do you guys think? If I can go to the PD4645V, do I pigtail?

OR should I stay with the original plan and go from the solar controller/charger to the battery and bypass the house charger altogether?

Let's get a few things straight. It would help to know if you have a "Progressive Dynamics PD4645V charger and stock inverter" as you said, or if you have a Converter/Charger. Perhaps you misspoke about the "inverter."

How much solar do you plan to install? I ask because the current coming out of your solar charge controller generally is not all that large. So, using heavy gauge "welding wire in conduit" is overkill unless you're installing 800w or more of panels. Typically, on a Class C you'd see something like 400w and that produces less than 30-amps max coming out of your charge controller.

What charge controller are you planning to use, and are you wiring in Parallel, Series or a combination of both?