Trailer Brake Controller

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Lowell

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 15, 2005
Posts
2,221
Location
Tempe, AZ
My son just bought a new Ram 1500 Tradesman and it was not equipped with a factory brake controller. I've always use Prodigy Brake controllers in the past and have been very satisfied with them. My current one is 9 years old and still working well for me.  But I was wondering what Prodigy model folks are buying now? I thought I saw that some of them have a removable feature that would be nice to have. Anyone have experience with them recently?
 

CharlesinGA

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 6, 2017
Posts
460
Location
50 miles south of Atlanta, GA
I think the P3 is the top of the line model. I bought one to replace a cheapie Hayes unit in a Ram 2500 I purchased earlier this year. The P3 has memory that allows programming for 4 different trailers and is fairly easily removable if you use the supplied slip in bracket (you would need to buy extra brackets and appropriate cables for other vehicles.) It is also supplied with a hard metal bracket, which I used as I do not intend to be moving it around.

Charles
 

Lowell

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 15, 2005
Posts
2,221
Location
Tempe, AZ
CharlesinGA said:
I think the P3 is the top of the line model. I bought one to replace a cheapie Hayes unit in a Ram 2500 I purchased earlier this year. The P3 has memory that allows programming for 4 different trailers and is fairly easily removable if you use the supplied slip in bracket (you would need to buy extra brackets and appropriate cables for other vehicles.) It is also supplied with a hard metal bracket, which I used as I do not intend to be moving it around.

Charles

Thanks Charles. I'm not sure about one thing. Does it have a connector that runs to the hard metal bracket that stays in place when you remove the controller?
 

viceprice

Well-known member
Joined
Mar 10, 2016
Posts
287
Location
Maine
We did not need all the features of the P3 so I went with the P2 and have been very happy with it. I replaced an old Escort II. The inertia braking is great.  I especially like the 3 levels of boost. I can easily change the power to the trailer brakes for different situations and road conditions. For example, I was dragging the trailer tires on a gravel campground roads (hilly slow speed driving to the site). Rather than change the  preferred power level, I hit the boost button a couple if times to turn it off. I normally use boost level 2 on dry pavement (0, 1, 2, 3 available) due to the size/weight of our camper.
 

CharlesinGA

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 6, 2017
Posts
460
Location
50 miles south of Atlanta, GA
Lowell said:
Thanks Charles. I'm not sure about one thing. Does it have a connector that runs to the hard metal bracket that stays in place when you remove the controller?

No, the wiring plugs directly into the P3. It then slips in the bracket (plastic). Only issue is that if you remove it, you will have to stop and tie up the wires with a bread tie or something else. etrailer.com has excellent pics of the unit, 360 image of it.

https://www.etrailer.com/Brake-Controller/Tekonsha/90195.html?feed=npn&gclid=EAIaIQobChMIx4SIzsrI3AIVEr7ACh1v5QUwEAQYASABEgKznvD_BwE

Scroll thru the product images, they will show what comes with the unit. It even comes with a padded carrying case. The wiring harness provided is universal, and if the truck is not pre-wired for a brake controller, you will use this universal harness and route and connect wiring to it. If the truck has a tow package you will find a blue connector to the left of the steering column that a custom harness plugs into.

If it is wired for the controller, here is the etrailer page for the correct harness for a 2018 Ram 1500....... https://www.etrailer.com/p-3016.html?hhyear=2018&hhmake=Ram&hhmodel=1500

Charles

 

Lowell

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 15, 2005
Posts
2,221
Location
Tempe, AZ
OK, Thanks Charles.

The installation is pretty much identical to the way my old Prodigy installed.  When I read that it was removable, I thought that might be  nice feature but it isn't exactly "plug and play." I think we will do the same as you and just leave it in place.
 
Top Bottom