Flat towing tall Jeep w Blue Ox

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ChinMusic

I’m new to the RV world. Just had a Blue Ox system installed on my Jeep Rubicon, 2.5 lift and 35s.

My Jeep attachment point is 13” taller than the receiver on the RV. The tallest adapter I can find is a 10” rise getting me within 3” of flat. As I read it Blue Ox says flat is best but 4” is max.

I have an Rvi3 braking system but am still concerned with that Jeep being 3” taller than the adapter. Any chance the Jeep could jump up in hard braking or would the Rvi3 take care of that?

Would you get the 10” rise adapter and call it a day or do I need to have a steel shop fabricate a 13”?

What I’m looking at: https://www.amazon.com/Blue-Ox-BX88...mzn1.fos.17d9e15d-4e43-4581-b373-0e5c1a776d5d

Last edited:
You'd be within Blue Ox specs at the 3"

However, if you did have something fabricated, you probably want an angle brace to insure that the upright cannot bend forward from regularly being pushed forward while slowing/stopping. That extra 3" on the vertical would add a lot of pressure to the upright.

I'm wondering if combining these two products together might do the trick.

My concern would be adding in forces the engineers didn’t take into account. I’m not qualified.

I called a fabricator and the basically told me “you engineer it and we will make it”. I’m not an engineer.

BULLETPROOF HITCHES 2" ADJUSTABLE TRAILER HITCHES (CLASS 4)

They have all kinds of adapters also.

BULLETPROOF 2" RECEIVER ATTACHMENT