Negotiating for coach purchase. Local vs Distant Dealer. Suggestions Appreciated

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

shoppeman1

Hi All:
Need some suggestions/assistance and perhaps courage (like the cowardly lion needed on the way to OZ).
I am a NEWBIE.
Anyway, I have found a specific coach model, at two dealers, one local and the second 850+ miles away.  The local dealer will cost me $2800 more than the far away dealer. (They will NOT match price).  After considerable negotiations the local dealer is now willing to provide and install at no charge a Roadmaster Even Brake (proportional brake). I understand that with installation that retails approximately $1600.

Therefore, the difference to me is approximately $1200.  Am I likely to have more than $1200 in aggravation because the dealer is so far away?....obviously coach would not be brought to far away dealer for repairs....and local dealer says that they will put any repairs or issues at the bottom of the stack if I buy from far away dealer.

I don't know what to expect in terms of initial and ongoing service needs with an RV.  Looking at a Vista Winnebago (in case that matters).

Thanks for your replies.

If they are exactly the same figure out how much fuel to go get new RV and to drive it home.

Have you gone and actually look the one over that is farther away.

As a newbie you might find that having a dealer close by is a plus. For myself, I would take the lower price, though $1200 is not a big difference in the broad scheme of things. The fuel alone to drive it home will put a big dent in that.

You can buy an Evenbrake for around $1000-$1100 and typical installation is maybe $200 or so (or do it yourself), so the dealer's $1600 claim is in the ball park.