Questions about maintenence and oil changes

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Kstrat

I just got a 1984 suncrest motorhome and was going through all the documents and the last oil change was quite a bit ago and i would like to do one myself. Just wondering if anybody has a clue on how much oil a 454 would hold? I am very new to motorhomes and I know this thing sat for a few years in storage. Is there anything else i should do? I already sealed the roof and checked the tranny fluid. the water seemed a bit musty from sitting so long in the fresh tank, anything i can do to clean the fresh water tank?
Any and all input is appreciated.
Kyle

Your 7.4 litre 454 (W code) is 7 qts with a filter according to owners manual. GM PF 35 filter. 
  I would recommend changing trans fluid, air filter, anti-freeze, fuel filter also.
  The P-30s were particulary hard on plug wires.
  You may check the library here about fresh tank sanitizing.

depending on how long the oil has been in the moho, i would change it to an inexpensive 10-40, install a new filter and run it a few thousand miles. the capacity depends on which oil pan your engine has and which filter you install. it is usually between 4-8 quarts. check how much you drain.
then change the oil to AMSOIL synthetic and add a 1 quart or 2 quart oil filter from OEMY or NAPA.
replace the transmission, anti freeze, and power steering fluid with AMSOIL synthetic. i am using a k&n gauze panel air filter.
replace your brake fluid. i am using castrol dot 4 lma fluid. it took 9 12 oz cans to get clean fluid out of all my calipers.
do not drink the water from your tank.
turn off the water heater. turn off the drinking water filter if you have one. replace the filter element if you have a filter.