replacing Atwood water tank with dual use water tank.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

benneufeld

hello I am planning to replace my entire Atwood G6A-7E hot water tank with another similar one. and the model of that one is GC6AA-8E. basically my first atwood model is strictly a gas only model.
And the new one is a gas and electric model as well. my motorhome is a 1994 fleetwood bounder, so i’m assuming the electrical hookup has not been done for me already. i’m really quite new to this rv diy stuff although i have plenty of carpenter and handy man experience.
so if anyone has had a history with adding in a 120 electrical hookup to an atwood water heater please give me any advice. if you can provide photos on what you did that would be so helpful so i don’t get lost on what to do, thanks again i appreciate any help anyone offers and i’m so thankful for this forum i would not be any good with these repairs without all the help, much appreciated!

I do also currently have an electric converter setup in my motorhome. so i believe that can be helpful. i will post a photo of it for you below.09E60AFF-805E-442C-A876-BE02563A6253.jpegC4C41296-619C-4D95-8F21-1B22EFF4838C.jpeg56503EE2-5DF1-487D-AC6C-4B0B06878501.png

The 120v is connected to the pigtails on the inboard side of the water heater tank at the bottom, inside the black cover is a relay. Black Romex goes to the relay, Relay has a black pigtail to the heater element, the white romex connects to a white pigtail that is directly connected to the other terminal of the heat element. The ground in the Romex is grounded to the tank and the relay has a 12v ground wire that also connects to the tank. The relay is controlled by a lone yellow wire that comes over the top of the tank (sometimes found inside the insulation) from the control board.