Shoreline Power problem

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jimmie123

I just had a 30 amp receptacle installed at the front of the house, it was done by a licensed electrician. I plugged the RV into it for the 1st time today...immediately the coach battery alarm went off and the main and a couple of receptacle breakers in the coach tripped. I pulled the plug as quickly as possible. I'm wondering if it's been done correctly? We used 10/2 wire, an exterior receptacle box with waterproof cover (it came with the receptacle installed) and a double 30 amp breaker at our main service panel....the electrician tested both legs at the receptacle and said that both were "good" as far as a reading...I'm no electrician - what should the reading be at each leg?? Does it sound like this was done correctly?? He lives across the street, so when he get's home tonite, if there's something that's been done incorrectly, I'll have him fix it. We used this RV not long ago...plugged in and had no problems at all.

Did he wire the outlet for 110v or 220v?

If your coach (you don't mention model) has only 30 amp service it can only handle 120v.

A coach with 50 amp service will make 2 legs of 110v circuits out of 220v.

A 30 amp service plugged into a 220 outlet without the proper adapter will cause damage.

jimmie123 said:
...double breaker ... both legs...

I'm no electrician either but from what I know, these are terms normally associated with a 220 circuit. My 30 amp outlet is wired no differently from a normal household outlet with the exception of the size/capacity of the components.

Joe