Wiring diagram for travel trailer - need advice

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

bighugetrout

Hi everyone, I'm new to solar and wondered if anyone could give me some advice. I've done a crude wiring diagram for the solar setup I'd like to install. Any comments or suggestions welcomed!

Attachments

• diagram.png
    diagram.png
    265.4 KB · Views: 37
Not sure what's the intention of the 3-way switch. As diagramed it appears you want it to switch the 120V shore power on and off "and" switch the 12V converter power to the buses on and off. The only way the converter will work is if that switch is in the "All" position and it's also not a good idea to use that kind of switch for AC power.

I presume the shore power goes through a power cabinet with breakers so the diagramed switch is not needed on the shore power side. There should be a circuit breaker for the AC supply to the converter. BTW - Is it also a charger? It would make sense if it was.

I would install a simple on an off switch between the DC positive buses (or negative) and the battery(ies)

If I wanted to be fancy I would install an ACR (automatic charge relay) between the solar supply and the batteries. The ACR would only close if you have solar generating.

I am also assuming that the house 12V supplies will be on the same DC buses diagramed and that all the house circuits are fused through a fuse panel.

You've got your ac and dc mixed. Shore power is AC and the Battery is DC, the switch will apply AC to the battery - that's no good.

I think you want a transfer switch to select power from one of two sources (Shore power, or Inverter) and output it to the RV outlets.

On the DC side, the charger/converter, solar panel charge controller and battery input to the inverter are all connected.

You don't show a charger for shore power, is that on purpose?