Generator clicks, won't turn over

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Mountaineer02

I'm a newbie, just got a 1999 class C.  When I got it a couple weeks ago, the generator started, but had to hold the start button for a few seconds, while it turned over but would not fire.  On the third try, it would start and run.  And run fine.  Now when I hit the start button on the remote or at the generator, it just clicks.  Does not turn over, usually.  Problem seems to be progressing from slow to get started to now it just clicks.

I know very little, I was thinking Selonid or the starter.

Its a Onan Microquiet.  the generator has very few houirs on it.

Any ideas.

Mountaineer02 said:
.....Now when I hit the start button on the remote or at the generator, it just clicks.  Does not turn over......

Sounds like a dead battery. Have you checked your batteries. Some motor homes start the generator off the chassis battery and some start it off the house battery.

Thought that, but the battery level on the meter in the coach is fine. 
The house battery is less than a year old.  All lights are work and its hooked up to shore power with an adapter-dont have a full 30 amp set up at the house yet. 

Mountaineer02 said:
Thought that, but the battery level on the meter in the coach is fine. 
The house battery is less than a year old.  All lights are work and its hooked up to shore power with an adapter-dont have a full 30 amp set up at the house yet. 

Does your RV engine start okay? Your genny starter might be wired to the RV engine battery.

-Don- SSF, CA​

Mountaineer02 said:
Starts right up-plenty of battery strengh on the chassis battery

When you attempt to start the generator and you're holding the switch in to start, does it only click once while held in or do you hear multiple fast clicking?