Tire Pressure Monitors

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

KerryT

I am fairly new in the RV world and am concerned about blow-outs after having had one last year.  Been doing a bit of research on Tire Pressure Monitors and there are so many different kinds with different functions and different prices.  Any advice on which ones really work and are they worth the money?

A TPMS system is something of an insurance policy. A tire that loses air can overheat and blow, which can cause loss of control if on the front axle of a motorhome, or significant damage to the underside of the RV if a rear axle of a motorhome or axle of a trailer or towed vehicle. Having experienced the latter scenario (before I became a convert), and having seen damage to motorhomes, I'm a definite believer.

As you found out, there are numerous brands and models on the market. The basic technology is the same, and variations exist in the method of mounting (on the valve stems or inside the tires), parameters monitored (pressure &/or temperature), and the monitor display (simple lights or a graphical display). Some sensors allow batteries to be replaced, while others require purchasing new or refurbished sensors when the batteries go bad.

We recently changed TPMS brands to EezTire (EezRV) after reading reviews and talking with the company on the phone (excellent tech support). Made the change because our old system had sensors with non-replaceable batteries. We're about to head out on our first trip with the new system, so I don't yet have on-the-road experience with it, but I like the newer monitor display.